Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror

I don’t like mirrors very much. It’s not because I hate the way I look, although I am given to bouts of self-criticism. I could have better skin, I don’t really like my nose, I’m lacking in muscular tone and I will always hate my legs. However, even with all of these flaws I can see, I’m usually pleased with the way I look. Is that arrogant? We’re in a society that seems to be very sensitive on the topic of beauty. We push the idea that you are beautiful no matter what you look like, and then we saturate the market with Photoshopped images of babes and hunks that are entirely too perfect. No one can achieve this image of beauty because literally no one looks like that, not even the person in the photo. We’re taught to embrace ourselves for who we are, but if we walk around proud of the way we look we are vain, shallow and self-absorbed. Well, at the risk of being punished for it, I will say this:  I don’t dislike the mirror because of what I see in it.

My apprehension towards mirrors can in fact be attributed to Hollywood, but not the way you might assume. I have a dislike of mirrors because of horror movies I was exposed to as a young child/teenager. You know the scene I’m talking about. The main character is tiptoeing through an abandoned building that looks like it’s going to fall apart at any second. No one ever seems to think to turn on the damn lights. They pass by or enter a bathroom, or a hallway with floor-to-ceiling mirrors, ominous music playing in the background, and something appears briefly in the mirror, and the music does that horrible thing where it crashes and climaxes and suddenly you wake up three hours later and some joker appears to have wet your pants. It can’t be you, you’re too brave for that. I think the worst possible mirror scene was in the revamped Amityville Horror, where the son is washing his hands and some weird freaky skinless guy pops up. At least, I think that’s what happened – I must admit I wasn’t looking for very long. I avoided looking in a mirror at night for about two weeks after that. I wasn’t made for horror movies. Mirrors in horror movies are always gateways into another world, or show bizarre, creepy things that aren’t there, and I don’t need that in my life.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/22/daily-prompt-mirrored/

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror

Leave a Reply

